Tag Archives: U2

Update – U2 Live at Red Rocks Blog

Just wanted to let all visitors know that I appreciate your visits and comments. WordPress suspended this account for about 8 years due to some links to Amazon.

It un-suspended itself yesterday so please continue with your comments. Thank you.


The Edge in Toronto, 2011.


U2 Red Rocks DVD – Initial Review

“What can I say really, what can I say? You know at first we wanted to make this film in the sunshine here at Red Rocks, then we realized that would be very wrong for this group…. This is what’s right for this group and this film, this film’s going all over the world as a record of tonight…. You want to say hello to Japan? Say hello to Japan!” – Bono

Out of Control, Twilight, An Cat Dubh/Into The Heart

The first four tracks on the Live at Red Rocks DVD. The first four songs in the concert. All previously unreleased.

The U2 Live at Red Rocks DVD is a fantastically remastered release.

The VHS release was missing 5 songs from the concert and the first track on the VHS tape was Surrender which is fourth on the DVD.

To see the concert from the beginning, starting with the incredible energy of the band in Out of Control, is a real treat.

The Edge has done a fantastic job on the remastering and regrading on this project. The 5.1 sound mix makes the original release in” VHS hi-fi Stereo” sound like the crap it really was.

I’ve listened to portions of the director’s commentary and it’s fascinating. Among his comments, he thanked the helicopter pilot and crew for getting into the air for the aerial shots for the intro and the concert. Unfortunately, the helicopter pilot, Peter Peelgrane, died in 1995 as a result of injuries suffered in a crash in 1992.

Another review coming a bit later.

Red Rocks Memories – voices of fans who were there

A great video clip with voices of fans who attended the legendary U2 concert at Red Rocks. Also included is commentary from photographer Greg Wigler, who took many of the most widely published photos at the concert.

[livevideo id=941F81060D9E4F9DAF4898A13CB264E2/804403/voices-from-red-rocks-memorie.aspx]
Voices from Red Rocks: Memories of U2’s Greatest Concert

U2 Live at Red Rocks DVD Released – Available Today

The day that many of us have been waiting for for years has arrived. The release of the live concert at Red Rocks that turned U2 into a world renowned band is finally available on DVD.

Live at Red Rocks contains 5 unreleased tracks, remastered video and a 5.1 sound mix.

If you are any kind of U2 fan and have never seen this concert, you owe it to yourself to spend a measly $14 or whatever and get this right now.

Check out your local music retailer or the U2 Live at Red Rocks DVD order pages at Amazon. Click here to find out how to order in the U.S., Canada, the U.K. and Germany.


4 days until U2 Live at Red Rocks DVD is released

U2 Deluxe Edition Box Set Available

There’s a great U2 box set available now that covers all of U2’s early material. I’m planning to order this as a must have for my U2 collection. The U2 Deluxe Edition Box Set This is currently only available through Amazon.com .
6 discs are included many, many unreleased tracks. Here’s a listing of the tracks:

Disc No. 1
1. I Will Follow
2. Twilight
3. An Cat Dubh
4. Into The Heart
5. Out Of Control
6. Stories For Boys
7. The Ocean
8. A Day Without Me
9. Another Time, Another Place
10. The Electric Co.
11. Shadows And Tall Trees

Disc No. 2
1. I Will Follow (Previously Unreleased Mix)
2. 11 O’Clock Tick Tock
3. Touch
4. Speed Of Life (Previously Unreleased Track)
5. Saturday Night (Previously Unreleased Track)
6. Things To Make And Do
7. Out Of Control
8. Boy-Girl
9. Stories For Boys
10. Another Day
11. Twilight
12. Boy-Girl (Live at The Marquee, London)
13. 11 O’Clock Tick Tock (Live at The Marquee, London – Previously Unreleased Version)
14. Cartoon World (Live at The National Stadium, Dublin – Previously Unreleased Track)

Disc No. 3
1. Gloria
2. I Fall Down
3. I Threw A Brick Through A Window
4. Rejoice
5. Fire
6. Tomorrow
7. October
8. With A Shout
9. Stranger In A Strange Land
10. Scarlet
11. Is That All

Disc No. 4
1. Gloria (Live at Hammersmith Palais, London)
2. I Fall Down (Live at Hammersmith Palais, London)
3. I Threw A Brick Through A Window (Live at Hammersmith Palais, London)
4. Fire (Live at Hammersmith Palais, London)
5. October (Live at Hammersmith Palais, London)
6. With A Shout (Richard Skinner BBC Session)
7. Scarlet (Richard Skinner BBC Session)
8. I Threw A Brick Through A Window (Richard Skinner BBC Session)
9. A Celebration
10. J. Swallo
11. Trash, Trampoline And The Party Girl
12. I Will Follow (Live at Paradise Theatre, Boston)
13. The Ocean (Live at Paradise Theatre, Boston)
14. The Cry/Electric Co. (Live at Paradise Theatre, Boston)
15. 11 O’Clock Tick Tock (Live at Paradise Theatre, Boston)
16. I Will Follow (Live From Hattem, Netherlands)
17. Tomorrow (Bono & Adam Clayton, Common Ground Remix)

Disc No. 5
1. Sunday Bloody Sunday
2. Seconds
3. New Year’s Day
4. Like A Song…
5. Drowning Man
6. The Refugee
7. Two Hearts Beat As One
8. Red Light
9. Surrender
10. “40”

Disc No. 6
1. Endless Deep
2. Angels Too Tied To The Ground (Previously Unreleased Track)
3. New Year’s Day (7″ single edit)
4. New Year’s Day (USA Remix)
5. New Year’s Day (Ferry Corsten Extended Vocal Mix)
6. New Year’s Day (Ferry Corsten Vocal Radio Mix)
7. Two Hearts Beat As One (Long Mix)
8. Two Hearts Beat As One (USA Remix)
9. Two Hearts Beat As One (Club Version)
10. Treasure (Whatever Happened to Pete The Chop)

This fantastic collection is available for pre-order now and will be released July 29 (delayed one week) only at Amazon. Click here for more ordering information and pricing. Thanks.

U2 Live at Red Rocks DVD U.K. release date changed

The original release date for the U2 Live at Red Rocks DVD in the U.K. and Germany appeared to be tomorrow, July 7. However, checking with Amazon.co.uk, the date is now August 18, 2008. A bit disappointing, but this is more in line with the North American release which was originally scheduled for August.